Our Learning

In the Early Years Foundation Stage children learn best when they experience learning first-hand, through meaningful interactions with others, through physical activity and through play. Our Early Years practice is based on on-going observation and assessment of the children and their interests.

The Early Years Curriculum

Prime Areas of Learning

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

  • Communication and Language (CAL)

  • Physical Development (PD)

Specific Areas of Learning

  • Literacy (L)

  • Mathematics (M)

  • Understanding the World (UTW)

  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

At the end of Reception the children will be assessed against the 17 Early Learning Goals and their progress is shared with parents.

Characteristics of Effective Learning (CEL)

  • Playing and Exploring

  • Active Learning

  • Creating and Thinking Critically

We adhere to the Curriculum Guidance for The Early Years Foundation Stage and have started using the new Early Years Statutory Framework which became compulsory from September 2021. Alongside both Parents/Carers and other professionals we ensure the best outcomes for all of our children.

Our Early Years principles are based on EYFS statutory guidance and the four overarching principles of good practice:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between school and home.

  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

EYFS New Starter Information